Home » coming soon

Coming soon: Lenovo IdeaPad U330 Review

Written By: James Rintamaki on September 24, 2008 14 Comments

I just got my shipping confirmation for the new Lenovo U330 13.3″ laptop! It’s should arrive on Thursday, but depending on if they leave it at my door, I probably won’t be able to pick it up till Friday, so stay tuned this weekend! (I will post a link on this post to the review once it’s up, or of course simply check back at the home page)

Update 9/25/08 11:22p:

Initial hands on review posted!! http://www.jrin.net/2008_09_26/lenovo-ideapad-u330-initial-hands-on-review

Update 9/26/08 4:30p:

I pick it up on the way home from work today. Keep a lookout tonight for an initial hands on review!

Update 9/25/08 7:20p:

UPS tried to deliver today, but I wasn’t home. I called them up, and they told me I could drive to the UPS center and pick it up tonight! I drove there, and was told that the truck from my area won’t be there until 8:00p…. They closed at 7:00p…… Ugh. Well, I will be posting my initial review tomorrow night!

The Lenovo U330 I ordered will have the following specifications:

  • Intel® Core™ 2 Duo Processor P7350 ( 2GHz 1GHz 3MB )
  • Windows Vista Home Premium
  • 13.3 WXGA LED Backlight TFT 1280×800
  • ATI Radeon HD 3450 256MB (ATI M82SCE 256MB)
  • 3 GB PC3-8500 DDR3 SDRAM 1066MHz
  • 320GB 9mm 5400RPM
  • DVD Recordable w/ X6 Ultrabase
  • HDMI, WiFi (802.11a/g/n), Bluetooth, 10/100 Ethernet (boo, no gigabit)
  • 0.9″ Thick

One thing I’m really looking forward to checking out is that it’s supposed to be able to switch from the dedicated video card, to the integrated (x3100?) video, to save battery life. If this ends up being light enough, I may end up getting rid of my Acer Aspire One!

Have anything in particular you want to see reviewed? Game play? Specific performance tests? Let me know in the comments!

Tags: , , , ,

Digg this!Add to del.icio.us!Stumble this!Add to Techorati!Share on Facebook!Seed Newsvine!Reddit!Add to Yahoo!

14 Responses to “Coming soon: Lenovo IdeaPad U330 Review”

  1. Jerry on: 24 September 2008 at 3:02 pm

    I can’t wait!

  2. Bingomaster on: 25 September 2008 at 12:48 pm

    Can you please weigh the laptop and time the time to discharge a full battery using dedicated vs integrated video. Thanks!

  3. James Rintamaki on: 25 September 2008 at 1:13 pm

    sure thing, I’ll be sure to report on those!

  4. CCMCornell on: 25 September 2008 at 3:48 pm

    Can you test out some games? The only one I really play is World of Warcraft which isn’t very demanding.

  5. Qusus on: 25 September 2008 at 5:52 pm

    Hey, if you have any recent system intensive games can you test those out and see how the HD3450 performs? If you have Mass Effect… or even Oblivion for example, that would be awesome. Something that can really push the system.

    No offense to the other guy who asked for WoW to be tested but that’s such a non-system intensive game that it’ll be pointless to test it (even computers without dedicated GPU’s can run that game). This laptop will run it super smooth without any problems.

    Thanks! Can’t wait.

  6. James Rintamaki on: 25 September 2008 at 6:15 pm

    I can try any game that has a demo, haha — I’ll check if there’s Mass Effect, or Oblivion game demos, and if so, I’ll download and review gameplay!

    plus, it was attempted for delivery tonight, but I didn’t make it home in time to pick it up! An initial review WILL BE UP TOMORROW NIGHT!

  7. James Rintamaki on: 26 September 2008 at 3:11 pm

    I can’t seem to find any demos of those two games — perhaps you know where I could find them? or if not, any other game choices (that have demos, haha)?

  8. godcopbadocp on: 26 September 2008 at 5:05 pm

    Can you test whether the lid/chassis is flexible? I know that sounds silly, but I am wondering if this Ideapad is as durable as the x200 Thinkpad, which has a magnesium roll cage. Lenovo says the laptop is made of magnesium, but if it’s not thick enough, then the laptop will bend. If the screen and body have too much bend then the laptop will not last as long as an x200 or a t61. So if the lid or chassis flexes at all, please do tell.

    godcopbadcop

  9. Qusus on: 26 September 2008 at 6:45 pm

    Hmm… looks like Oblivion and Mass Effect don’t have demos.

    Call of Duty 4 does have a demo. I think that will be a decent benchmark for this laptop though I’m not sure if it’s really gonna push it.

    Crysis is probably the most hardware intensive game out right now, I don’t think this laptop will be able to handle it but if you have time DL the demo and give it a shot.

    Thanks again man.

  10. Michael on: 27 September 2008 at 9:10 am

    I just bought one and it took around 4 weeks to deliver. I ran it all night yesterday and it is a good notebook.

  11. John on: 2 October 2008 at 3:33 pm

    Yeah I ordered one, was 4 weeks, then they just moved it out another two weeks…..not sure I understand how a non customizable laptop takes 6 weeks to complete. Hopefullly its worth the wait

  12. ZeroSource on: 7 October 2008 at 9:03 pm

    Great review, beautiful laptop.

    I would like to know that can it use stereo mix that recently has been disabled by many manufacturers.
    Every ThinkPad line has this option disabled in its hardware.
    Regarding these links:

    http://forum.thinkpads.com/viewtopic.php?t=52527

    http://www.maximumpc.com/article/news/dell_colludes_with_riaa_disables_stereo_mix_without_forewarning

    Please test if Ideapad also has this option.

    Thank you.

  13. speedmaster on: 13 October 2008 at 11:49 pm

    U330 arrived a week ago. So far no defects thanks God.

    Battery life is terrible… most I can get is 3 hours and if I use the DVD for a couple of minutes it will drop to 2.15…with the integrated graphics. I didn’t even tested with the discrete one to avoid being so upset and return it…. This machine needs a 9 cell battery even making it heavier. Notebooks are meant to be use unplugged and battery life is fundamental. Lenovo is lying saying you can pump 4+ hrs from it. My X31 gives me half an hour more than the U330 in the same conditions…

    USB ports location are terrible… right side at the front… terrible to use a wireless mouse in a crump space… bad design, they should be at least more to the back since they can’t be in the rear due to the LCD hinge design…

    Wireless was losing connectivity every minute…while my X31 was not…so it wasn’t interference and I end up deleting the profile of Readycomm and creating a new one… it has been working since so do not rely on having the wireless configured without Readycomm as the program will keep trying to connect and dumping your connection. Another strange thing with Readycomm is that it first shows my network signal with 3 bars only (happen always) and when I refresh the network it appears with five bars…anoying but survivable. The notebook does not connect automatically to the network.. I have to bring the Readycomm screen and manually click on my SSID… ***?

    Ah, the clicks. As long as I could verify the click sounds are the hard drive heads parking or leaving the park area. Mine does it too and is working perfectly.

    Hate Vista and will go back to XP. Does anyone figured out how to switch graphic cards in XP? Manual says you can’t but hei, there are more things between earth and sky than just airplanes…

    Other than what is written above everyhting else is fine. The only real problem is the battery life…and the great annoyance the USB ports position.

    Hope this helps

    Cheers

  14. love my lenovo laptop on: 20 October 2008 at 9:50 am

    Great review thank you

Leave a Reply:

XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>


Get Firefox! facebook me
Copyright © 2011 jRin.net, All rights reserved. Disclosure Policy.